My last post ended with my concluding that I need to trust my body and enjoy running for what it is. Well, it looks like I had no choice but to listen to my own advice because once again I had watch issues this week. I worked in Winston-Salem and was looking forward to running around Wake Forest. I pulled into the parking lot at the track, grabbed my running gear, and as I went to strap on my watch (which I was sure to pack) I realized that the face was blank. All I have to say is that the battery was 100% charged that morning and usually lasts for 3 days with running before dying. A nagging little voice in the back of my head reasoned that maybe I was not supposed to run hard this week. After not remembering to pack my watch last week followed by it dying this week, I should have listened to that voice. Instead I concluded that I had 2 options: ensure I run the 6 miles by running around the track, or guess at my pace and run around campus based on time using my phone as a watch. 24 laps was not sounding appealing considering I already had a track workout scheduled for the following day, so I decided that 52 minutes of running would be a safe bet for logging my desired mileage and wound my way around the trails behind the Reynolda Village Shops to enjoy some soft terrain and give my shins a break. I have no idea what my distance and pace really was, but it was nice to once again enjoy a relaxing, pressure free run.
Wednesday was the challenge: how do you run mile repeats with no stop watch? I saw a guy that looked pretty quick running 800s, so I asked his pace hoping I could tag along with him for the 1st 800m then try to maintain the 2nd 800m on my own. He was open to the idea, but said he was hitting 2:30s … I am not that fast! I thanked him and joked that when he got tired to let me know and I would join in then. I was almost to the point of bagging the track and heading out for another 52 minute pleasure jog, but being the stubborn (read - obsessed) runner that I am, I of course found a way around this dilemma. What type of smart phone owner would I be if I did not download an app for my needs at hand? I quickly found a stop watch app and was off to take on the mile! The air felt so thick and my legs felt a bit heavy, but I was excited to see if I could still run a sub 6 mile. I had to leave my phone at the starting line since moving it messes up the time keeping app (I know … I have a Droid), so around I went with no idea of my actual pace. I crossed the finish line and grabbed my phone … 6:16. A tiny part of me was let down because I thought I would always be able to crank out a sub 6 mile, but a huge part of me was pumped! A 6:16 completely off of muscle memory was incredible. Now that I knew what the right pace felt like, the next one was easier and I came in right at 6:00. As I approached the starting line for the last one I saw that the speedy guy was also about to line up for his next 800m. He told me he was down to 3:00 now and I was welcome to join in, so I happily tucked in behind him for the first lap, thankful for someone with a watch for splits. My happiness was short lived though, I had forgotten about “the female effect.” You are probably wondering what the female effect is, I am sure you have seen it in action plenty of times, and maybe been a victim of it yourself. Let me explain.
In my experience, it does not matter how slow the male is and how fast the female is. If the female goes to pass the male, or even comes within a close range of the male, he will speed up. A male could be on his 19th mile with 1 to go and a random female, that, for all he knows could be out for a 1 mile sprint could come along, and he would speed up in an effort not to let her pass him. You men can deny it all you want, but I maintain that the female effect is real, and it never fails.
Now that we’ve got that understanding, back to the track. Mystery guy and I start our first lap, and I instantly knew we’d gone out too fast. I have no idea what that first split was, but I slowed down. By the time the next lap rolled by I’d probably let 10 seconds come between us and as I passed by him (he stopped since he was doing 800s) he called out my time … 2:45 … ouch! No wonder I was hurting, we were on pace for a 5:30 mile! I eased up and tried to just hang on for the last 2 laps. My legs felt like bricks as I finally crossed the line … 5:45. Holy cow. While I was thrilled that I could pull out a 5:45 on my 3rd repeat, I knew I would pay for it the next day. The guy smiled a bit sheepishly as I waved goodbye and set out for my cool down, he knew as well as I did what had just happened. The female effect, men can’t fight it.
This picture is from Friday. I did not run this day, but check out my “track” that I wrote about last week! Charlotte was pelted with storms all day and there were several floods in the area, my “track” is now a pond! At least Tyler won’t have to worry about my asking her to run there any time soon. J

Fast forward to Sunday for my 10 mile long run. On the whole this was uneventful, but there is one funny part that I want to share. First off, I need to say, my mom is awesome. Ever since I started marathon training, if we are in the same town for my long run she rides her bike next to me. Jason has done the same, and I don’t want to discount how much I appreciate his support, but my mom is the feature figure in this story. We have come to an agreement over the years that whenever there is an uphill approaching my mom should bike ahead and get as much speed as possible going into the hill since it is harder biking up a hill than running. This past Sunday we (Mom, Jason, and I) were biking/running through Umstead State Park in Raleigh, and came upon a long windy downhill that eventually led into a sharp uphill. Having no head start, Mom quickly fell behind on what turned out to be a 0.5 mile uphill. We waited at the top for my mom then we went another mile before reaching the half-way point and turned to head home. Knowing about the hills, Mom and Jason took off to get ahead before going back up the long windy hill we had enjoyed coming down just a bit ago. They were soon out of sight and I tootled along enjoying the park, tried to tread lightly on the downhill so as not to put too much pressure on my leg, then braced myself for the uphill. After a few turns I had my bikers back in sight and was quickly closing the gap. It was relieved to see them because as the sun came up it was getting hotter, and I was getting thirstier, and the water bottles were on the bikes. Then something strange started happening, we were all still going uphill, but they appeared to be getting farther away from me again. I had not changed speed, if anything I had sped up, but before I knew it they were out of sight! I did not catch them for another mile, and I only caught them then because they had stopped to wait for me at the front of the park. I grabbed a water bottle and asked what had happened, and my mom could not stop smiling. As Jason told it, they were huffing it up the hill probably going about 5mph when he looked back and saw that I was in sight. When he told my mom, without a word she stood up, started pedaling as hard as she could, and just took off! Once they reached the top of the hill he thought they would slow down but she kept moving full speed ahead saying “she is not going to beat me this time!” and didn’t stop until the park gate. Who knew my mom was such a baller when properly motivated? She crushed the hill and me! The rest of the run was pretty normal, but I still cannot believe how fast Mom was moving.
So it is time to get real. Last week was fun, but the start of this week has been pretty rough. I must confess that every run has not been pain free, and while many days have been good, there are fewer each week. After Sunday’s run (which really was completely pain free) I was hurting pretty badly, and Monday was just awful. After 1 mile I had to turn back because I was worried that I was doing serious damage with the increasing level of pain each step brought.
I am going to listen to my own advice from the last entry, and make the decision not to race the Richmond Marathon in November. I am still planning to run the marathon, and am very much looking forward to it, but the pressure I have been putting on myself to set a new PR is off the table. I will be taking the next week completely off, then gradually easing into low impact activities next week, but no running. I am not sure where I went wrong, but there is just no way to realistically expect good results this close to the race with no base to pull from after this break. To be honest I did not take my own decision well at first and went through a bit of a mourning period yesterday as I accepted that I really am not going to break 3 hours this year.
I will chase down that elusive 3 hour barrier, but this is not the year. I will update again in 2 weeks when I can better assess the situation. Until then … happy running!